In the we’ve been waiting for this category, an Orlando Florida mom and daughter hit he courts against greasy arches of McDonald’s Corporation and a local franchise owner. The law suit claims that big Mc wasn’t truthful calling their French fries gluten and wheat free.
Until February, the company said their fries were for folks with food allergies to wheat and/or dairy ingredients. On the company Web site, fries were listed on a “Gluten Free Menu Items” posting. The posting called the fries “gluten free” and free of “any wheat”. Upps, apparently not so says mom.
Things changed in early February and the offending fries were removed from the allergy positive list. Quietly and without fan fare “derivatives of milk and wheat” were added to the ingredients of French fries.
Not long after, McDonald’s fessed-up and admitted that maybe they forgot something and the “natural flavoring” in the OIL used for frying the fries contained wheat and dairy. Alas, it appears that cooking in that “natural” flavored oil leaves some of the milk or wheat proteins in the fries. So much that it might be harmful to folks with allergies.
Is anyone really surprised?